Floresville High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
National Honor Society » Home


The National Honor Society is an organization composed of sophomore, junior, and senior students who meet certain requirements based on scholarship, leadership, character, and service. Members must have attended FHS for at least one semester prior to becoming a member, unless they were a member while enrolled in a previous school. Members may also graduate as Distinguished NHS Graduates by successfully completing at least six (6) Pre-AP, AP or Dual Credit courses (to include at least three (3) AP or Dual Credit courses by graduation).  Beginning with new members in April of 2018, NHS Distinguished requirements will also include having a GPA of 100.00 or greater at the final grade check which is in January of senior year.
Any students enrolled in Floresville High School may become new members if they meet certain requirements. Students must be on the HB 5 Distinguished Level of Achievement Program and must also meet a cumulative weighted scholastic average of 92.00 or above.  In addition, each member must complete ten (10) hours of community service per semester.
National Honor Society is the outgrowth of a long-standing academic honor society in Floresville once known as the Beta Club. The National Honor Society is a prestigious organization for those students who demonstrate high standards in academics, behavior, and integrity. Their activities may include a canned food drive for the needy for Thanksgiving, assisting with the Veteran’s Day ceremony each November, volunteering at local nursing homes, and helping for a team for Relay for Life of Wilson County. In addition, they are involved in several other community service projects and pay a one time dues fee to support the annual induction ceremony and purchase stoles and tassels for graduating senior members.
NHS Officers 2018-2019
President:  Gabriel Aparicio
Vice President:  Amylia Ryan
Secretary:  Corinne Pawlik
Treasurer:  Maddy Castro
Historian:  Gabby Uriegas
Parliamentarian: Deidra Garcia 
Reporter:  Olivia Soto
Student Council Representative:  Kameryn Cortez

NHS Co-Sponsors:  Mr. Anthony Warzecha, Ms. Laura Yeager, and Mrs. Amanda Herrera
NHS Faculty Council Members:  Mrs. Dixie Haag, Dr. Norbert Freckmann, Mr. Gregg Richards, Mrs. Cassie Earl, and Ms. Heidi Zertuche